Boggabri’s Dr Nishad Gamage – Winner of the inaugural Eric Fisher Award!

We are very proud to announce Nishad Gamage of Boggabri as the 2018 winner of the Eric Fisher award.

Dr Nish and Dr Oshi with their daughter.

This award has been established by the RACGP to acknowledge a new Fellow who is committed to the wellbeing and self-care of themselves and their colleagues and acknowledges the biopsychosocial factors that contribute to good health and patient care.  Both Nish and Oshi provide an excellent medical service to the community of Boggabri (population about 1000). They are the whole compliment of resident doctors in a town that includes some large coal mines and a 4 acute bed hospital. They are supported with regular locum cover.

The Eric Fisher award is in honour of the late Dr Eric Fisher, President of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners from 1986 to 1988. He was a GP in West Wyalong so it is very appropriate that the first award goes to Nish as another rural GP. For more information on Eric Fisher please click here and here.

Please select the practice you'd like to book.